

EMBARGOED Until 9:00 pm Mon., 5/15/2017

For Immediate Release

**Press Contact: Kathy Rochefort** (617) 842-9283 or (617) 247-1299

kathy@rochefortassociates.com

# Boston Theater Critics Association Announces The 35<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Elliot Norton Awards Recipients

# Diane Paulus Receives Annual Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence

# **Tony Award-Winning Actress Cherry Jones is Guest of Honor**

-- Awards Presented at Ceremony on Monday May 15 at Huntington Theatre Company's BU Theatre --

Awards were presented to more than two dozen outstanding actors, directors, designers and ensembles tonight by The Boston Theater Critics Association (BTCA), at the **35**<sup>th</sup> **Anniversary Elliot Norton Awards** ceremony, held at Huntington Theatre Company's BU Theatre.

This year's recipient of the *Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence* is Diane Paulus, the Terrie and Bradley Bloom Artistic Director of the American Repertory Theater (A.R.T.) at Harvard University. Paulus was selected for the 2014 TIME 100, *TIME* Magazine's annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world.

Two-time Tony Award-winning actress **Cherry Jones** was the Guest of Honor. Cherry last appeared on Broadway in *THE GLASS MENAGERIE* which originated at the American Repertory Theater in Cambridge, Massachusetts, where she is a founding member and where earlier in her career she appeared in more than 25 productions.

Joyce Kulhawik, President of the BTCA, stated, "Tonight was a spectacular celebration of the extraordinary artists who give it their all, heart and soul, every night in and around Boston. Companies



large, small, and fringe were joined by artists visiting, returning, and up and coming, all of them with the same purpose: to shine a light on what it is to be human. Tonight the BTCA was proud to shine a light on them "

In addition to the presentation of the awards, nominated musicals, cast members of *Wicked*, and young artists from the Boston Arts Academy performed in the spirit of the evening's theme Alternative Acts, which Kulhawik described as "a call to art in a climate where the contributions of artists are being devalued and the NEA is being threatened with extinction." City of Boston Chief of Arts and Culture Julie Burros read a Mayoral Proclamation in honor of The 35th Anniversary Elliot Norton Awards! A gala afterparty sponsored by the Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center at Boston University, followed in the Huntington Theatre's Stewart Lane and Bonnie Comley Studio 210. A portion of the evening's proceeds will be donated to the Boston Arts Academy to support the region's next generation of artists.

Sponsors of the 2017 awards are Broadway In Boston, Actors' Equity Association, The Boston Globe, TheaterMania/OvationTix, M. Steinert & Sons, and Allston Piano, with the support of the Huntington Theatre company.

The **Elliot Norton Awards** are presented annually by The Boston Theater Critics Association (Don Aucoin, Jared Bowen, Terry Byrne, Carolyn Clay, Iris Fanger, Jeremy D. Goodwin, Joyce Kulhawik, Kilian Melloy, Bob Nesti, and Ed Siegel) to honor the outstanding productions, directors, designers, and performers that audiences have seen on Greater Boston stages throughout the year.

The **Elliot Norton Awards** are named for the eminent Boston theater critic Elliot Norton, who remained an active supporter of drama, both locally and nationally, until his death in 2003 at the age of 100. The Boston theater community carries on his legacy and can be proud of its remarkable growth at a time in our nation's history when the arts are struggling to survive.

Special and honored guests at the awards in past years comprise a Who's Who of distinguished artists who have graced Boston's stages, including: Lea DeLaria, Mary Louise Wilson, Olympia Dukakis, Chita Rivera, Tommy Tune, Al Pacino, Edward Albee, Brian Dennehy, August Wilson, Julie Harris, Sir Ian McKellen, Lynn Redgrave, and Jason Robards, Jr.

For more details on the 35<sup>th</sup> Annual Elliot Norton Awards, including a full list of awardees and nominees, visit <a href="http://www.elliotnortonawards.com">http://www.elliotnortonawards.com</a>



###

## 35th Anniversary Elliot Norton Awards

#### **Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence**

This year's recipient of the ENP for Sustained Excellence is Diane Paulus, Artistic Director of the American Repertory Theater, for expanding the boundaries of Boston-area theater and its role in the national conversation

#### **Outstanding Production, Large Theater**

Topdog/Underdog (Huntington Theatre Company)

#### **Outstanding Production, Midsize Theater**

Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Lyric Stage Company of Boston)

#### **Outstanding Production, Small Theater**

Oh God (Israeli Stage)

#### **Outstanding Production, Fringe Theater**

Silent Sky (Flat Earth Theatre)

#### **Outstanding Design, Large Theater**

*Fingersmith* (American Repertory Theater) Set design by Christopher Acebo, costumes by Deborah Dryden, lighting by Jen Schriever, composer/sound designer Andre Pluess, projection design by Shawn Sagady, wig and makeup design by Rachel Padula Shufelt

#### Outstanding Design, Midsize, Small or Fringe Theater

*Edward II* (Actors' Shakespeare Project) Set design by Sara Brown, lighting by Jeff Adelberg, costumes by Rachel Padula Shufelt, sound design by David Wilson, violence design by Omar Robinson, props master Elizabeth Rocha

#### **Outstanding Actor, Large Theater**

Matthew J. Harris, *Topdog/Underdog* (Huntington Theatre Company)

#### **Outstanding Actor, Midsize Theater**

Maurice Emmanuel Parent, Edward II (Actors' Shakespeare Project)

#### **Outstanding Actor, Small or Fringe Theater**

Christopher James Webb, *Blasted* (Off the Grid Theatre Company)



#### **Outstanding Actress, Large Theater**

Karen MacDonald, Finish Line (Boch Center in association with Boston Theater Company)

#### **Outstanding Actress, Midsize Theater**

Paula Plum, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Lyric Stage Company of Boston)

#### **Outstanding Actress, Small or Fringe Theater**

Maureen Keiller, Faithless and The Honey Trap (Boston Playwrights' Theatre) and Oh God (Israeli Stage)

### **Outstanding New Script**

*Mala*, by Melinda Lopez (ArtsEmerson)

#### **Outstanding Visiting Actress**

Kristen Sieh, RoosevElvis (The TEAM, presented by American Repertory Theater)

#### **Outstanding Visiting Actor**

Randy Harrison, Cabaret (Roundabout Theatre Company, presented by Broadway In Boston)

#### **Outstanding Visiting Production**

Twelfth Night/What You Will (Bedlam, presented by The Nora Theatre Company)

#### **Outstanding Visiting Musical Production**

An American in Paris (presented by the Boch Center)

#### **Outstanding Solo Performance**

Anna Deavere Smith, Notes from the Field: Doing Time in Education (American Repertory Theater)

#### **Outstanding Director, Large Theater**

Billy Porter, *Topdog/Underdog* (Huntington Theatre Company)

#### **Outstanding Director, Midsize Theater**

David R. Gammons, *Hand to God* (SpeakEasy Stage Company) and *Edward II* (Actors' Shakespeare Project)

#### **Outstanding Director, Small or Fringe Theater**

John Kuntz, *Blasted* (Off the Grid Theatre Company)

#### **Outstanding Musical Production, Large Theater**



Show Boat (Fiddlehead Theatre Company)

#### **Outstanding Musical Production, Midsize, Small or Fringe Theater**

The Scottsboro Boys (SpeakEasy Stage Company)

#### Outstanding Musical Performance by an Actor

Seth Judice, Billy Elliot (Wheelock Family Theatre)

#### **Outstanding Musical Performance by an Actress**

Jenni Barber, Sunday in the Park with George (Huntington Theatre Company)

#### **Outstanding Ensemble**

The Beauty Queen of Leenane (Druid Theatre Company presented by ArtsEmerson