top of page

The 24th annual Elliot Norton Awards were held on May 22, 2006, at the Cutler Majestic Theatre.
Presented by Boston Theater Critics Association and Emerson College, the awards honored the season’s best work in Boston’s theaters (from April 2, 2005 to March 30, 2006). 


For the first time in the history of the Elliot Norton Awards, nominations for each category were announced in advance.


Lifetime Achievement: William Finn, composer/lyricist
Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence: Spiro Veloudos, Producing Director, Lyric Stage Company
Special Citation: Boston Conservatory


Outstanding Design

Janie E. Howland, Urinetown (Lyric Stage Company), True West (New Repertory Theatre), Five By Tenn(SpeakEasy Stage Company), Talley’s Folly (Lyric Stage Company) **
Eric Levenson, Take Me Out (SpeakEasy Stage Company and Boston Theatre Works)
Adam Stockhausen, The Hopper Collection (Huntington Theatre Company)


Outstanding Director, Small/Midsized Company
Diego Arciniegas, Arcadia (Publick Theatre)
Scott Edmiston, Five by Tenn (SpeakEasy Stage Company)
Spiro Veloudos, The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?; A Number; Urinetown (Lyric Stage Company)


Outstanding Director, Large Company
Brian McEleney, Hamlet (Trinity Repertory Company)
Jerry Mouawad, No Exit (American Repertory Theatre)
Robert Woodruff, Olly’s Prison (American Repertory Theatre)


Outstanding Solo Performance
Billy Crystal, 700 Sundays (Broadway in Boston)
Aidan Dooley, Tom Crean, Antarctic Explorer (Súgán Theatre Company)
Jefferson Mays, I Am My Own Wife (Broadway in Boston)


Outstanding Actor, Large Company
Bill Camp, Olly’s Prison (American Repertory Theatre)
Jeremiah Kissel, Hamlet (Commonwealth Shakespeare Company), The Sisters Rosensweig (Huntington Theatre Company)
Will Lyman, Hamlet (Commonwealth Shakespeare Company)


Outstanding Actor, Midsized Company
Allyn Burrows, The Homecoming (Merrimack Repertory Theatre), King Lear (Actors’ Shakespeare Project), Five by Tenn (SpeakEasy Stage Company)
Alvin Epstein, King Lear (Actors’ Shakespeare Project)
Jonathan Epstein & Tony Molina, Othello (Boston Theatre Works)


Outstanding Actress, Large Company
Leslie Lyles, The Hopper Collection (Huntington Theatre Company)
Karen McDonald, Olly’s Prison; No Exit (American Repertory Theatre)
Molly Ward, Three Sisters (American Repertory Theatre)


Outstanding Actress, Midsized Company
Veronica J. Kuehn, Into the Woods (New Repertory Theatre), Urinetown (Lyric Stage Company)
Paula Plum, The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia? (Lyric Stage Company)
Sandra Shipley, Long Day’s Journey Into Night (Gloucester Stage Company)


Outstanding Production by a Local Fringe Company
My Heart and My Flesh (Coyote Theatre)
P.S. Page Me Later (Alarm Clock Theatre Company)
The Possibilities (Whistler in the Dark)


Outstanding Production by a Large Resident Company
Hamlet (Trinity Repertory Company)
No Exit (American Repertory Theatre)
Olly’s Prison (American Repertory Theatre)


Outstanding Production by a Midsized Resident Company
Five By Tenn (SpeakEasy Stage Company)
The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia? (Lyric Stage Company)
King Lear (Actors’ Shakespeare Project)


Outstanding Production by a Small Resident Company
Arcadia (Publick Theatre)
Gagarin Way (Súgán Theatre Company)

Othello (Boston Theatre Works)

Outstanding Visiting Production
Forbidden Broadway: Special Victims Unit (Huntington Theatre Company)
Monty Python’s Spamalot (Broadway in Boston)
700 Sundays (Broadway in Boston)


Outstanding Musical Production
Falsettos (Huntington Theatre Company)
On the Twentieth Century (Overture Productions)
Urinetown (Lyric Stage Company)

bottom of page