top of page

The 15th Elliot Norton Awards
Presented by Boston Theater Critics Association, the awards honored the season’s best work in Boston’s theaters (from May 1, 1996 to April 30, 1997).


Guest of Honor: Zoe Caldwell, actor
Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence: Christopher Plummer, actor


Outstanding Production, Visiting Company
Carousel (RNT)


Outstanding Production by a Large Resident Company
Six Characters in Search of an Author (American Repertory Theatre)


Outstanding Production by a Small Resident Company
Speed-the-Plow (Lyric Stage Company)


Outstanding Production by a Local Fringe Company
Suburbia (SpeakEasy Stage Company)


Outstanding Solo Performance
Spalding Gray, It’s a Slippery Slope (Emerson Majestic)

Anna Deavere Smith, Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992 (Huntington Theatre Company)


Outstanding Director, Large Company
Oskar Eustis, Angels in America I & II (Trinity Repertory Company)


Outstanding Director, Small Company
Steve Maler, Midsummer Night’s Dream (Commonwealth Shakespeare Company) and suburbia(SpeakEasy Stage Company)


Outstanding Designer, Large Company
Laurie Olinder and Fred Tietz, Alice in Bed and Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (American Repertory Theatre)


Outstanding Designer, Small Company
Janie Fliegel, set, Scarlet Letter and American Buffalo (New Repertory Theatre), Speed-the-Plow and Blithe Spirit (Lyric Stage Company)

Outstanding Script, local premiere
Tom Stoppard, Arcadia (Huntington Theatre Company)

Outstanding Actress, Large Company
Gretchen Cleevely, Arcadia (Huntington Theatre Company)


Outstanding Actress, Small Company
Dee Nelson, Scarlet Letter (New Repertory Theatre) and Blithe Spirit (Lyric Stage Company)


Outstanding Actor, Large Company
Bill Camp and Michael Stuhlbarg, Long Day’s Journey Into Night (American Repertory Theatre)


Outstanding Actor, Small Company
Stephen Largay, Equus (Nora Theatre Company)

Special Citation
Súgán Theatre Company

bottom of page