top of page

The 14th Elliot Norton Awards
Presented by Boston Theater Critics Association, the awards honored the season’s best work in Boston’s theaters (from May 1, 1995 to April 30, 1996).


Guest of Honor: Uta Hagen, actor and teacher
Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence: Alvin Epstein, actor


Outstanding Large Production, Visiting Company
Three Tall Women

Outstanding Small Production, Visiting Company
Diary of Anne Frank (Foxboro)


Outstanding Production by a Large Resident Company
Raisin in the Sun (Huntington Theatre Company)


Outstanding Production by a Small Resident Company
All in the Timing (Merrimack Repertory Theatre)


Outstanding Production by a Local Fringe Company
Jeffrey (SpeakEasy Stage Company)


Outstanding Director, Large Company
Kenny Leon, Raisin in the Sun (Huntington Theatre Company)


Outstanding Director, Small Company
Spiro Veloudos, Sweeney Todd and Anything Goes (Publick Theatre)


Outstanding Designer, Large Company
Ian MacNeil, An Inspector Calls (touring)


Outstanding Designer, Small Company
John Malinowski, lighting, Weldon Rising (Coyote)

Outstanding Script, local premiere
August Wilson, Seven Guitars (Huntington Theatre Company)

Outstanding Actress, Large Company
Patti Allison, Threepenny Opera (American Repertory Theatre); Iolanthe (Huntington Theatre Company)


Outstanding Actress, Small Company
Karen MacDonald, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Merrimack Repertory Theatre)


Outstanding Actor, Large Company
Ralph Waite, Young Man from Atlanta (Huntington Theatre Company)


Outstanding Actor, Small Company
Doug Stender, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Merrimack Repertory Theatre)

Special Citation
John Langstaff (Revels)
Shakespeare & Company


bottom of page